With the NEVYs flying in fast (December 2nd) what better time to get to know the teams behind the selection process. Every year, the NEVCA assembles an esteemed group of investors from firms around Boston: the NEVYs Academy. The group is broken down into 5 industries: Tech, Life Science, Healthcare, Medtech, and Climate Tech. They have the task of creating categories for recognition, culling through a wide universe of eligible companies, selecting an exceptional group of nominees for each category, and elevating one (or sometimes two) overall winner.

This year, the full Academy consisted of 42 New England venture capitalists and they’ve made their selections for the 73 nominees and 15 winners— the heroes of New England’s innovation ecosystem — that make up the 9th annual NEVY Awards! While we can’t wait to unmask the MARVELous NEVYs nominees, today we want to recognize the Academy Members and their stellar efforts.

Meet the 9th Annual NEVYs Academy Members — powered by JP Morgan:

NEVYs 2021 Tech Academy:

— Co-Chairs: Dayna Grayson, Construct Capital and Eric Paley, Founder Collective
Pamela Aldsworth, JP Morgan; Kent Bennett, Bessemer Venture Partners; Juan Luis Leungli, Tectonic Ventures; Peter Longo, Connecticut Innovations; Lily Lyman, Underscore VC; Dina Routhier, Stanley Ventures; Tom Ryden, MassRobotics; and Russ Wilcox, Pillar VC

NEVYs 2021 Life Science Academy:

— Co-Chairs: Johannes Fruehauf, LabCentral / Bio-Innovation Capital and Colleen Cuffaro, Canaan
—Laura Brass, Novartis Venture Fund; Arjun Goyal, Vida Ventures; Jackie Grant, Abingworth; Luba Greenwood, Verily; Skip Kelly, JP Morgan; Marian Nakada, J&J Innovation; Sara Nayeem, Avoro Ventures; and Catherine Pagliarula, Alexandria Venture Investments.

NEVYs 2021 Healthcare Academy:

— Co-Chairs: Steve Kraus, Bessemer Venture Partners and Nancy Brown, Oak HC/FT
Payal Divakran, .406 Ventures; Liam Donohue, .406 Ventures; Andrew Hedin, Bessemer Venture Partners; Chris Lloyd, JP Morgan; Laura Veroneau, Optum Ventures; Scott Yaphe, Schooner Capital; and Jessica Zeaske, Echo Health Ventures.

NEVYs 2021 Medtech Academy:

— Co-Chairs: Maria Berkman, Broadview Ventures and Darshana Zaveri, Catalyst Health Ventures
Skip Kelly, JP Morgan; Renee Masi, BioStar Ventures; David Neustaedter, Medtronic; Aaron Sandoski, SV Health Investors; Eric Sillman, Aperture Venture Partners; and Scott Yaphe, Schooner Capital

NEVYs 2021 Climate Tech Academy:

— Chair Tibor Toth, MassCEC
Brian Lehman; JP Morgan, Brian Mayers, Breakthrough Energy Ventures; Dave Miller, Clean Energy Ventures; and Adam Sharkawy, Material Impact.

New England Venture Capital Association (NEVCA) members support entrepreneurs winning. Great VCs depend on great entrepreneurs.