With the NEVYs right around the corner (December 1st @ 6:30PM) what better time to get to know the teams behind the selection process. Every year, the NEVCA assembles an esteemed group of investors from firms around Boston: the NEVYs Academy. The broader group is broken down by industry into 5 subgroups: Tech, Life Science, Healthcare, Medtech, and Cleantech. These subgroups set about the task of creating categories for recognition, culling through a wide universe of eligible companies, selecting an exceptional group of nominees for each category, and elevating one (or sometimes two) overall winner.

In 2020, the full Academy consisted of 47 venture capitalists — of which 48% were female — who convened both in person and virtually, as circumstances dictated.

NEVYs 2020 Tech Academy:

— Co-Chairs: Dayna Grayson, Construct Capital and Eric Paley, Founder Collective
Dina Routhier, Stanley Ventures; Doug Roth, CT Innovations; Holly Maloney, General Catalyst; Juan Luis Leungli, Tectonic Ventures; Katie Rae, The Engine; Kent Bennett, Bessemer Venture Partners; Lily Lyman, Underscore VC; Maia Heymann, Coverge; Pamela Aldsworth, JP Morgan; Rudina Seseri, Glasswing Ventures; Russ Wilcox, Pillar VC; Tibor Toth, MassCEC; and Tom Ryden, MassRobotics.

NEVYs 2020 Life Science Academy:

— Co-Chairs: Johannes Fruehauf, Mission BioCapital and Colleen Cuffaro, Canaan
— Jackie Grant, Abingworth; Luba Greenwood, Verily; Marian Nakada, J&J Innovation; Michal Silverberg, Novartis Venture Fund; Ross Leimberg, AbbVie Ventures; Sara Nayeem, New Enterprise Associates; and Stefan Vitorovic, Vida Ventures.

NEVYs 2020 Healthcare Academy:

— Co-Chairs: Steve Kraus, Bessemer Venture Partners and Nancy Brown, Oak HC/FT
Bill Geary, Flare Capital Partners; Jessica Zeaske, Echo Health Ventures; Laura Veroneau, Optum Ventures; Liam Donohue, .406 Ventures; Scott Yaphe, Schooner Capital; and Yumin Choi, Bain Capital Ventures.

NEVYs 2020 Medtech Academy:

— Co-Chairs: Darshana Zaveri, Catalyst Health Ventures and Maria Berkman, Broadview Ventures
Eric Sillman, Aperture Venture Partners; Scott Yaphe, Schooner Capital; V. Kadir Kadhiresan, J&J Innovation; Geoff Pardo, Glide Healthcare Partners; and Renee Masi, BioStar Ventures.

NEVYs 2020 Cleantech Academy:

— Chair Tibor Toth, MassCEC
Adam Sharkawy, Material Impact; Ally Yost, The Engine; Brian Mayers, Breakthrough Energy Ventures; Dave Miller, Clean Energy Ventures; Luca Seletto, Enel; and Matthew Nordan, PRIME Impact Fund.

New England Venture Capital Association (NEVCA) members support entrepreneurs winning. Great VCs depend on great entrepreneurs.